View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:06 pm

Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 DTLC "ditlc" Discrete Transistor Logic Computer 

Every once in a while aka when i am up to late, i get the urge to build a computer. out of discrete parts.

My Goals are as follows:

NO dip chips
NO PCBs
NO Wire Wrapping

I find soldering through hole components soothing and relaxing, kind of like knitting. Also crazy projects.

I envision a mess of perf board and IDE cables.

Ive been pondering the idea for a few years now and want to start working on something. I dont really know what im doing but im going to take a whack at it and hope i dont end up with a $100 pile of parts and solder that is so fundamentally flawed it will never work.

Since i feel i can program better than i can design and fabricate my design motto is "add just enough hardware to be able to add features in software"

MICROCODE!!!! for instance i have no idea how in the hell to do multiplication and division in hardware logic (AND I DONT WANT TO KNOW) i was reading that you can do multiplication fairly quickly (vs an ADD loop) with bit shifts and ADD.

SO when you fire off the MUL instruction its going to jump to a part of memory (boot strapped in or part of memory is ROM) and get into the LOOP that ADDs and ShiFTs all the right ways to get the answer.

MODULARITY is the plan!! not down to the logic gate but maybe down to each flip flop in the register on its own little bit of perf board then all stacked up :)

Im thinking build a register first THATS MY GOAL!! build a register by christmas (16 bits) [in software chop up number and do 32bit math] its just a bunch of gated D flip flops right? have all the memory on one bus with the control loop enabling registers to read the bus based on the OP code.