View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:12 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 OPC6, Forth, and MSP430 

Hi Ed and All,

For some time I have been working on an interactive, interpreted Forth-like language for the MSP430 - and I have set myself the artificial target of making it fit into 1024 bytes of MSP430 assembly language.

The reason i chose the MSP430 was simply because it was a very ordinary 16-bit processor, with 16 registers and a very orthogonal instruction set of just 27 instructions - in other words, it only takes a few hours to learn its assembly language.

Subsequently I came across the OPC project - and it became very clear that architecturally the MSP430 was very similar to the OPC6 ISA - suggesting that any code written in MSP430 should be an easy port to the OPC6.

I started coding the SIMPL language in MSP430 assembler in January when I had some holiday - I am currently 8 days in a rural property in Valencia, Spain - where a friend and I are having a "coding week" plus a bit of cycling.

I'm trying to get SIMPL (serial interpreted minimal programming language) stable on the MSP430 before porting to the OPC6.

If anyone else wants to contribute to a <1024 byte interactive programming language - especially porting to OPC6 - I'll put the latest up on github with a few guidance notes.

Best wishes from Valencia

Ken

Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:30 pm

That certainly sounds interesting to me!

Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:41 pm

Hi Ed,

TI have just introduced a new "Launchpad" dev board based on their MSP430FR2433 microcontroller.

This is based on ferro-electric memory or FRAM and has 16K of FRAM and 4K of SRAM, as well as 19 GPIO

TI are offering this devboard under special offer at the moment for just $4.30 - more details here.....

http://www.ti.com/lsds/ti/store/msp430- ... &undefined

Ken

Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:04 pm